It’s all very well being the all-seeing TechEye, but sadly, when folks are being prevented from seeing our stories, our omniscience goes from omnipotent to impotent rather quickly.
And who do we have to thank for our cloak of interwibble invisibility? Well, that would be Trend Micro, the self-proclaimed “global leader in network antivirus and internet content security software.”
According to our sources, anyone with Trend Micro’s software installed on their machine gets sternly warned off TechEye’s world-class editorial - apparently because we’re spreaders of malware.
Yes, it would appear that for no good or apparent reason, even to Trend Micro employees themselves, TechEye has been found infectious.
When we called the firm to find out how to cleanse ourselves, we were told by the Global Public Relations Director, Michael Sweeny, to fill out a “detection re-evaluation” form. And use some anti-fungal gel while you’re at it.
So, since when do security companies get the power to decide which sites live or die? When exactly was it that this transaction for control over news content occurred? And could it be that the big firms simply don’t want their employees reading news about them, especially from honest, unbiased, uncensored sources?
When we asked Mr. Sweeny how exactly his firm had decided that TechEye was a vicious, malicious, malware mongering site to be blocked, he responded “I just don’t know.”
Head of global comms just doesn't know how his firm's software works, shocka.
He went on to say "it could be because you're a new site" ... but perhaps, if our conspiracy theory is correct, he meant to say "because you're a news site."
Either way, Mr. Sweeny has promised us that he will “escalate” the issue with his superior commanders and, pending our imminent re-evaluation, try to get things sorted.
When we thanked him for this, Sweeny responded “uh-huh.”
They don't. In the same way that DNSBLs don't block e-mail. It's up to users (or network administrators) to decide whether to use the site black list created by the security company.
I've seen this happen many times before with spam filters - overzealous, simplistic approach to 'security'.
Oh, and apparently, anybody can flag a site as evil in the TM sphere.
While I was composing this comment it popped up with:
http://reclassify.wrs.trendmicro.com/wrsonlinequery.aspx?url=http://www.flowgo.com/robots.txt
Imagine that.
On Weekends About Only Person On FaceBook Is Mike Magee, Surronded by Purvors of Louvee. Dancin' singin' & Stompin, its; fUN time for ALL. Now Look At Ezines, Only Posters Are Columbia Broadcast Services ZEDENKA.net.
Not Enough HARD hitting Content, Yet People With time, Find Something, AS NO One else Is RED, due to NO Writinings.
Go For It, Fill Every Sun with FEW Stories, Every Sayturs' Day with Moon glow of Just Another PFB file. Paid For Business. EYETECH Have Dozens of Lookies & of Course DRASHEk Wow, Songs' Dancin' Sreamin' From Gallery. Don't SO IT. DoIT. Right Arm Metely, Skip Left hand For Bonus Cheque & Work Less, GET Day To DAY readershet & WaLa, STeWie, TS, vondrashek, & PHYSICIAN THOMAS STEWART von DRASHEK MD ALL Thrown IN for FREE. Thinq EveryWhere, EveryDay for EveryOne That NoBody Except CBS UnderStands.
Signed:DRASHEK IS COLUMBIA BROADCAST SERVICE.